Five Marion musicians earn ISSMA’s top award at State Solo & Ensemble

Marion Community Schools congratulates more than two dozen outstanding young musicians from Marion High School and McCulloch Junior High who competed recently at ISSMA’s annual State Solo & Ensemble competition! We are proud of these artists, who all took on a high degree of difficulty to reach the state level. Five of them earned the top adjudication award, gold with distinction, which recognizes a high degree of excellence. 
Each year, the Indiana State School Music Association puts on regional and state level Solo & Ensemble competitions for instrumentalists and for vocalists and pianists. Musicians who earn a gold rating at regional on a Division 1 entry (the toughest division) advance to the state level. This year, vocal/piano state competition was on Feb. 17, and the instrumental state competition was on Feb. 24. 
Marion Community Schools applauds these students on their great accomplishments, and expresses gratitude to the teachers who work every day to help these students develop their talent and skills.
Here’s a look at the full list of Marion musicians who competed at state Solo & Ensemble, and their awards:
Gold with Distinction
  • Flute trio: Hannah Smith, sophomore, Mikenzie Chambers, junior, Myelei Whitaker, senior (pictured in top photo)
  • Aliya Cruz, freshman, vocal solo (pictured in middle photo)
  • Caleb Huff, junior, earned Gold with Distinction with two solos: marimba and snare drum (pictured in bottom photo)
  • Brass quintet: Daniel Terhune, senior; Sarah Terhune, junior; Manuel Trejo, Jehren Smithley, and Justin Peters, all sophomores
  • Saxophone trio: Gavin Johnson, Axel Ortiz, and Ashton Circle, all freshmen
  • Madelynn Boogar, freshman, marimba solo
  • Hannah Huff, eighth
  • Damien Martin, junior, baritone saxophone solo
  • Colin Royse, freshman, vocal solo
  • Daniel Terhune, senior, tuba solo
  • Sarah Terhune, junior, French horn solo
  • Sabrina Thomas, senior, clarinet solo
    Macey Wayman, eighth

  • Tuba quartet: Jocelyn Lopez-Gomez, Daniel Terhune, John Wells, and Bryant Munoz, all seniors
  • Ethan Boogar, junior, baritone solo
  • Gavin Johnson, freshman, alto saxophone solo
  • Justin Peters, sophomore, trombone solo